I'm just Super Saiyan

No one tells me anything, just saiyan…

THE SUPERMAN EFFECT

42 Comments

Alright, so I’m sure I’m not the first person that this has happened  to, but I thought I’d rant about it anyway.

Actually, this is going to be a two part rant. Part 1 is about my lack of eyesight abilities, part 2 about the superman effect.

PART 1 – I CAN’T SEE

As a kid, I don’t remember gradually losing my eye sight… even though it probably was gradual. According to my memory, it happened in the matter of a week.

First I recall my teacher coming up to me and asking me if I was having a lot of trouble looking at the board, cause apparently I was squinting my eyes. Then in my phys. ed. class the following day we had like some eye vision test thing. It wasn’t random, they did it every year, but this year they sent me home with a note. Then I remember my dad driving me to the optometrist and telling me that I needed glasses.

Now, my dad has worn glasses since the beginning of dad history. So, it was explained to me that crap eyesight was passed down to me by the biological miracle that is genetics. So, I was kind of always destined to wear glasses. At some point, one way or another, my vision would start to deteriorate, and I’d have to get glasses. There’s no way to out run fate kids…especially when you can’t see where you’re going.

After the eye exam, I waited patiently with my dad in this museum of glasses. They came in all shapes, sizes, colors, it was crazy overwhelming. I have always been very indecisive, so my dad helped pick out my first pair. They were this kind of light brown, very circular shaped, pair of glasses. I was excited to try them on.

Okay, so here’s the thing. Before I got glasses, I had no idea that I had crooked ears. SURPRISE – I know now.

Even worse, because I had never had glasses before, I wasn’t used to having to keep tabs on their location all the time.  So one day I accidentally sat on them…and made them even more crooked.

Yeah. I had to go to school looking like that.

These glasses weren’t doing me any favors man, my nerd factor just exponentially skyrocketed.  Silver-lining – I could see with crystal clarity the looks of pity on the faces of my peers.

It’s the little things in life…

Anyway, as my eyes slowly started to decompose in my skull, my eye sight started getting progressively worse. I’d go back and get new pairs of glasses over the course of my life. Here’s a quick recap of the pairs I’ve owned:

I guess I was never really into loud or bright colors. Also, I didn’t discover contact lenses until I was like…17, so until then I had to always choose colors that would match the majority of my wardrobe.

These days glasses are cool and hip. I see kids running around with frames that don’t even have lenses. ARE YOU MOCKING ME CHILDREN? Why couldn’t glasses have been cool when I was growing up?

Anyway, I complain some more about being blind in one of my previous posts.  But what I really want to get to, is part 2 of this post, because I’ve got some rants to unleash.

PART 2: SUPERMAN EFFECT

I think I’ve had this conversation with a couple of people who wear glasses before. It’s the Superman effect.

Okay so everyone knows (the audience) that Superman is Clark Kent; but no one in Metropolis would ever be able to finish that puzzle. Makes you wonder, like, they could have done anything to Superman – ANYTHING – and these Metropolites would totally buy it.

The thing is that, in the real world, this happens all the time.

On several different occasions, I have introduced myself to someone without my glasses and if I ran into them again with my glasses they would re-introduce themselves to me.

The other thing that happens to me is that people will call me another name. I’ll show up to class one day with my glasses off, the professor calls me by my given name, no problems. I show up the next day with my glasses on, suddenly I’m “Melissa.”

FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THE GALAXIES IN THIS UNIVERSE, WHY AM I ALWAYS MELISSA? SERIOUSLY. Was there a memo that went out about how if you forget my name the automatic default is Melissa? Where did you even come up with that! Is everyone in on this? People who have never met each other, that I have met separately, have mistakenly called me Melissa.

YEAH I MAY LOOK DIFFERENT, CAUSE THERE’S AN OBJECT SITTING ON MY FACE – BUT NOT THAT DAMN DIFFERENT.

What is it about my glasses that makes people think I’m a completely different person?

I’ve heard of the Doorway Effect, where when you walk through a doorway you subconsciously forget about whatever it was that you were doing. Maybe glasses are the same way. Maybe when I put on my glasses, its like a reverse doorway effect – people who see me subconsciously forget who I am. My glasses open a realm of random forgetfulness.

The reverse doorway effect wipes away my identity when the glasses situate themselves on my face. To outsiders who may have known me, their memory of me becomes erased. This has to be the reason why people don’t recognize me…IT HAS TO BE.

What do you guys think about all this? Can you relate to any of it? Or is this just something I’m cursed with… TELL ME I’M NOT THE ONLY ONE.

Author: imsupersaiyan

Blogging is hard. I'm just sayian.

42 thoughts on “THE SUPERMAN EFFECT

  1. YOU’RE NOT ALONE. THIS HAPPENS TO ME ALWAYS.
    Though my name default is “Rachel”, which….makes me want to hurl things. Bad enough you can’t spell my real name right ever, but you think I look like a Rachel? No, sir.
    This phenomenon might need proper documentation, though. Maybe even a research study.

    • D: What is this man? It’s like a naming conspiracy!!!!!!!!!!!
      I bet there were people before us who questioned us…they probably found a list somewhere with all the alternative names of everyone on the planet.
      I hope they make it out alive to publish their findings. WIKILEAKS THAT SHIT!

  2. OMG this is so hilarious!!! I can relate so much with all of this! I had glasses since I was 8 till 17/18 when my doctor let me use contact lenses! EVERYONE told me I looked so different… and they still do… ! I LOVE THIS POST SO MUCH! And the drawings are amazing!

  3. I didn’t start wearing glasses until I was in my late 40’s…and I use one of those necklace-chains to keep my glasses from getting lost. I had *one* co-worker tell me that I looked like a ‘grandma’ but I’m old enough to take it. I would rather be called grandma than to lose my glasses because I forgot where I put them!

    • Sue, you’re so lucky. Growing up with glasses is the worst.
      Tell those lame-o people to back up off you man! I should try one of those necklace chains, put like charms and cute stuff on it. People would be so jealous.
      I tell you though, I only had to sit on my glasses once to know that I would never let that happen again. Crooked glasses are the worst.

  4. I always become super anti social (okay, more so than usual) if I wear glasses. I feel like I have a big wall up around my face and no one can see me. If only that were actually true.

  5. I think I finally get it! I’ve seen all these cartoons with the big “M” on the shirt, and I just didn’t know what it meant. And your pic (hehe) says Super Saiyan M… and now finally I feel like I have enough pieces to the puzzle to figure it all out!

    Superman…

    Super Saiyan M…

    Superman wears the S on his chest…

    Super Saiyan M wears the M on her chest…

    Does that mean you are… Melissaman?

    Ok, I guess I still don’t have enough. Will stay tuned…

  6. You ARE hilarious!! How in the world was I not following you before? Am now! :-)

  7. I’ve only had glasses for a couple months so I don’t know these feels. I just kind of winged it and saw things incorrectly while on the road/in class/ walking around. But when equations started to look stranger than normal and csc started to look like cot I thought it was time to get glasses. It was pretty bad in programming courses too.
    Anyways I think it’s also because I have a tendency to take off my glasses so people see me with and without glasses on? Reason being is because there is a thing on my face that used to not be there. On the upside I know what people look like now! Details everywhere!

    • You missed out…on absolutely nothing. You are so lucky to have gotten your glasses later on in life. When I did get contact lenses I really tried to wear them as often as I could, it was just so liberating. But then the whole wrong-name-calling started happening. It’s like I can’t win!!!!
      Yes, seeing is very important…its why I need these glasses :c

  8. this was hilarious!!! these drawings are too much!! I loved clark kent, he’s got a super jacked up arm though!

  9. you look so different with your glasses. YOU LOOK SO DIFFERENT WITH YOUR GLASSES. see you in school.

  10. Ah, I love this post. I wear glasses, and I am PERMANENTLY forgotten, no matter how many times someone has met me, depending on the state of my optical affairs. The funniest is that when you are actually someone that WEARS glasses, you tend to remember the people that wear them, and STILL recognize them when the glasses are gone.

    I think it is a cruel joke of the new ages – to be cool with glasses. Growing up my geekiness was MAGNIFIED (excuse the pun) by the fact that I now had specs on my face. Yeah well, losers, I had full HD sight streaming now. So whatever.

    • D: The plight of glasses can never be understood by those who don’t have them. Being forgotten and growing up four-eyes…these are just a few of our problems! If it weren’t for having super high def vision, I would think no one would want to wear these things…unless glasses are suddenly in style..oh wait…they are…how did that even happen?

      • They will NEVER get it. Or the irritation contacts can cause at times, too. Oh man, four-eyes… the bane of my childhood.

        Some strange hipster element apparently is to blame for it becoming elective. I want to snatch and smack every time I see fake glasses!

        • I could do a post about contacts alone…lol…and they’re the more enjoyable option of the two for me :C
          DAMN HIPSTERS! Just wait, in ten more years, everyone will wanna be stylin’ braces…

          • BWAHAHAHAHA well yeah, I like them, but I must say when you find that pair that you just like… it is nice. I found my first ever pair recently.

            You joke, I won’t lie, when I was a kid, all the popular kids had braces! What the hell, you know? I guess it is better when they are kids though as opposed to teens/adults.

            • I think I really liked my Raybans – the most classy pair of glasses I have ever owned – but then I got tired of how they looked. That always happens to me though, I have such terrible commitment issues. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll totally wear a pair of glasses for ages upon ages, but I do eventually get bored with them :C

              Man, I had braces and no one was calling me popular ever. You must have gone to some other dimension school…or maybe I did.

              • It happens rather quickly hey! I even contemplated building a collection haha. Expensive.

                Haha! Damn sucky hey! Well, at least you have purdy teeth teehee!

  11. The only reason why I don’t think this happens to be is because my hair is a pretty big identifying detail haha :D
    Even some people who I know who are legally blind say they always feel self conscious about accidentally not being able to see someone and not saying hi to them but they don’t get like that with me because they can always tell :B Yay! I help people kinda!

    • I’m trying to remember if people remembered me with or without my glasses when my hair was blue…
      But I don’t recall anyone doing that to me then.
      Maybe you’re right Kim, maybe dying our hairs bright colors has been the solution all along!

  12. Wonderful post!!!!! I love your sense of humor and your cartoons.

    I’ve had glasses since I was 13… along with red hair and braces… let’s not even talk about the fact that I never had a date in high school. And contacts never worked for me.

    The up side is that everyone recognizes me because this is the only way they ever see me. And yet I’ve always felt I’m in disguise… that the real me would be too much for people to take, so I need glasses to shield them from me. This was recently reinforced by a comment from my 19 year old son when I mentioned I might get lasik surgery. He said… OMG NO!!!! Your eyes are way to creepily intense without your glasses!!!! Gee thanks.

    I could have chocked it up to the teenage son syndrome… but every once and a while, before we get up in the morning and I don my glasses, my wonderful husband asks me to stop staring at him and he puts his hands up in front of his face in defense of my loving laser gaze. So I guess I’ll stick with the glasses and save the world from my big blue blazing eyes! lol

    Thanks for the great post!
    Meghan

Leave a Reply

