I'm just Super Saiyan

No one tells me anything, just saiyan…

RETROGRADE MUSIC.

17 Comments

Throughout my life I have really gone up and down that gradient scale between extrovert and introvert. Its hard to be social and actively seek out new friendships when I’ve had so many moments, especially this year, where I question who I am. The number of times I’ve caught myself confused about my own feelings or thoughts leads me to believe that I need to do a lot more research about myself. I need to conduct more studies, test more variables, and perform more experiments to determine a more current definition of myself. But, does anyone really require a definition? I suppose a certain amount should be necessary. The question is, how can anyone new in my life understand all of these complexities.

I was reading through my bloggies this morning, and came across the Daily Prompt. I thought to myself, wouldn’t that be easy? Just handing over a mixtape to new people in my life, and suddenly they would know me. It could contain all the songs that I felt I related to since I was younger gradually leading up to the person I am today. But music is like any other media, it can be interpreted in several different ways. So perhaps the playlist I share, that I feel is the best representation of who I am, turns out to be a completely different person to anyone else who listens. Or maybe I’m just getting a bit too philosophical over a very simple task – which would be to create a list of songs I enjoy.

Either way, lets see if it works.

My favorite band: Radiohead: 15 Step, Everything in its Right PlaceHouse of Cards, BodysnatchersHigh & Dry, their albums are all gold – see for yourself.

My favorite Chiptune: 

Deeply personal songs: Radiohead – How to Disappear CompletelyThere, there, The Head and the Heart – Lost in my mind.

A song that makes me cry every time I listen to it: Radiohead – True Love Waits.

Songs guaranteed to calm me: Tycho – A walk, The xx – Outtro.

Songs that remind me of my family: Gipsy Kings – Volare, Gipsy Kings – Hotel CaliforniaCat Stevens – Morning has Broken, Animals – House of the Rising Sun, Simon & Garfunkel – The Sounds of Silence, Biz Markie – Just A Friend (my mom sings the chorus at random).

Songs that I can’t just listen to once, if I hear them I have to replay them:  James Blake – Retrograde, The Black Keys – Lonely Boy, Radiohead – Lotus Flower (Jacques Greene Remix), Shakira – Tortura, The White Stripes – Dead Leaves & the Dirty Ground, Electric Six – Gay BarPeter, Bjorn & John – Second Chances, Wallpaper (mix) – Dorrough & Fela KutiBibio – À tout à l’heure.

Nostalgic songs: Tenacious D – Tribute, Darude – Sandstorm, Garbage – The Trick is to Keep BreathingLostprophets – Shinobi vs Dragon Ninja & Kobrakai, Manu Chao – Me Gustas Tu, Spin Doctors – Two Princes, Nirvana – Come as You Are, The Prodigy – Firestarter.

Really nostalgic songs: Mega Man 2 – Airman Theme, Guild Wars – Prophecies Theme, Guild Wars – Factions Theme, The Legend of Zelda OoT – the entire soundtrack, X-men Theme Song, Mortal Kombat Theme SongMighty Morphin Power Rangers Theme Song [sweet, sweet guitar solos].

My favorite beats: Danger Doom – Crosshairs, Lupe Fiasco – Gold WatchChildish Gambino – American Royalty (ft. RZA and Hypnotic Brass Orchestra), Makiza – Un dia cualquiera, Passion Pit (Neo Tokyo Remix) – Sleepy Head, The xx – Crystalise.

Songs for the car: Childish Gambino – Outside, Lupe Fiasco – The Cool,  Starfucker – Rawnald Gregory Erickson the Second, Neon Indian – Polish Girl, Lykke Li – Little Bit, Empire of the Sun – Walking on a Dream, The xx – Chained, Junip – In Every Direction, Jupiter – Saké, Flight Facilities feat Giselle – Crave You, MGMT – Electric Feel, Washed Out – Feel it all around, Jónsi – Go DoKlaxons – Golden Skans, Moderat – Bad KingdomDyE – Fantasy, Thieves Like Us – ShynessThe Offspring – The Kids Aren’t Alright, Alt J – BreezeblocksThe xx – Islands, 3D Friends – Lina Magic.

My ringtone for three years: Swizz Beats – Top Down [lol, now I can’t listen to the song without thinking I’m getting a phone call]

That’s a whole lot of songs. Do you think you know who I am now?

Author: imsupersaiyan

Blogging is hard. I'm just sayian.

17 thoughts on “RETROGRADE MUSIC.

  1. Pingback: Do we have a music memory? | Processing the life

  2. I love this post!!! I wanna listen to all these songs!

  3. Holy track list Batman! That’s a long list of songs! I couldn’t stop myself from clicking the Airman theme from Megaman and the Ocarina soundtrack. Holy crap the X-men theme! That was my Saturday mornings as a little derp!

  4. Pingback: My 8 Track | My Days In A Song

  5. Pingback: Me On Mixtape | Flying On Empty Thoughts

Leave a Reply

